Sentencing Day for For Men Who Beheaded Smokey the Pit Bull in Grayling

In July of 2012, Seven Stuart and Daniel Weiskerch shot and decapitated a six-year-old Pit Bull named Smokey in Grayling. Smokey was very much loved by his family who had gotten him as a puppy. You can read the original story here.

smokey pic

These two men pleaded guilty in Circuit Court on July 22nd to animal cruelty charges which include one count of killing/torturing an animal. The plea deal agreement included a second charge of killing/torturing an animal and felony firearms charges being dropped for both men. They currently face a $5,000 fine, 500 hours of community service, up to two and a half years and prison and will be banned from owning animals.

Under MDOC (Michigan Department of Corrections.) guidelines, the maximum sentencing is two years and six months. The prosecutor believes that there is “substantial and compelling” reasons to depart from the MDOC recommendation of three to six months in jail.

Their sentencing will be on September 9th at 9 am at the court house in Grayling. Ron Lukas, the father of Smokey’s owner Dan Kelley, urges anyone in the area to be in the courthouse for sentencing to show their support of the highest possible sentencing available for this crime.

UPDATE SEPT. 7th: This article had earlier included information on emailing the prosecutor, asking for him to forward your emails to the judge about giving the highest possible sentencing in this case. Pet Friends Magazine has learned that the Judge in this case has received an objection to the letters sent and based on that, she has refused to consider them or read them because the people who sent the letters are not “victims.” Because of this, you are urged to show up in the courtroom in person to support a strong sentence in this case.

UPDATE SEPTEMBER 9TH: Unfortunately, the sentencing in this case was very minimal. Read more about it here.

Tagged: , , , ,

10 thoughts on “Sentencing Day for For Men Who Beheaded Smokey the Pit Bull in Grayling

  1. sheri September 2, 2013 at 1:16 pm Reply

    I know for a fact these pets have real emotions and love. I lost my son last year to PTSD from the war. His dog Cisco for months laid and waited for him to come home. If if wasn’t for my Pit Snookie I would of totally lost my mind. Our dogs are our family members and in no way shape or form should of this ever happened to this dog. My heart aches for this dog and his loved ones. The individuals that did this need to be shown in the harshest way this will not be accepted. It will also show others that are heartless it will not be accepted.

  2. Kelly Sargent September 2, 2013 at 3:53 pm Reply

    Please take this opportunity to say to the world that this type of behavior will not be tolerated. Take a stand for these animals who have no voice of their own and speak for them. Speak loudly and clearly that society finds it reprehensible and sentence the offenders to the fullest extent of the law. We must make it more than a slap on the wrist to make any headway into stopping this type of behavior. Remember, if a person is capable of this, they often escalate to other types of cruelty. Thanks, and I will be watching to see how this is handled. May you be given wisdom and courage as you sentence these two men.

  3. Debbie September 2, 2013 at 7:02 pm Reply

    PLEASE send all your respond’s to the prosecutor. Tell him to give those 2 cruel boys the highest possible for this stupid crime. They did it out of nothing more than jealousy. One brother against the other.

  4. Jenn September 2, 2013 at 9:01 pm Reply

    If I lived in the area I would be at the court house. This behavior is disturbing and shows the true sickness these individuals have. They need to be sentenced for their crime. Animals like children are loyal and need advocates to protect them from abuse. Im praying the full sentence is handed down, served and our laws become tougher on such disturbing criminal behavior. My deepest condolences for smokey’s family.

  5. Bex September 2, 2013 at 10:37 pm Reply

    That’s just plain INSANE! of the 2 immature BOYS! & 4 years?! NO no no! more like 10 years!! This Beautiful dog was 6 years old! not 6 days old, my point being 6 years in dog years to human years is…’42’ years old people, he wasn’t very old but he wasn’t a baby either. 4 years is not enough to teach these insane kids! a lesson, throw them the maximum possible but I still think for every dog year taken as to the time given in Prison in human years…should be 42 years! for each of the INSANE BOYS! The poor family now have to grieve their loss & try to come to terms with the cruel actions that were dealt to their much loved Dog. No amount of time given to the 2 INSANE BOYS is going to take their pain away, I know, I went through a similar cruel thing with my Pit Bull who was murdered last year 2012 by INSANE BOYS who punctured 2 screw driver holes between his eyes, so I know what pain their going through, it’s hard to get over & I guess only in time it can burden away the pain slightly. Rest In Peace “Smokey”, your forever running free now.

  6. Katinka September 3, 2013 at 2:31 pm Reply

    I need the email address for the prosecutor, when I click on the link above it takes me to a email program I can not open on my laptop.
    I will spread the word and have a few who would do the same, time is of the essence!
    Thanks for enlighten me about this case. I firmly believe in felony for animal cruelty and I firmly believe the law needs to be changed.
    If we stand together we will succeed!

  7. Jason Connors September 3, 2013 at 3:11 pm Reply

    Put these scum bags in a dark little cell for as long as possible, there is no place for animal cruelty in this world.. Dogs have as many feels as we do, they feel love, pain, sadness and above that all, dogs seem to have a bigger heart then most Humans these days..

    – But, Writing this is probably a waste of time due to the lack of law enforcement and the uneducated magistrates that don’t seem to have a conscience like the ones that will lock up a bloke for a violent fight or for the bloke that gets caught selling amphetamines trying to make money (and taking into consideration that drugs destroy lives)
    BUT so does touching children!? Why do I keep hearing pedophiles getting let off with suspended sentences? What!? So they can do it again!? It’s fucking disgusting the way the justice system is…
    If these 2 men are capable of torturing and killing a dog, what’s stopping them from torturing and killing one of us?

    Lock them up and throw away the key.

    I would be honoured to be named (not remain anonymous) and have my comment published for the public and the delinquent magistrates, judges, police prosecutors etc to see.
    Thanks kindly.

    Jason Connors

  8. Cathryn Arnold September 4, 2013 at 12:47 am Reply

    The maximum penalty for these two offenders really isn’t enough. Please ensure that they are charged accordingly for this horrific crime. This should never happen to an animal. It is unacceptable.

  9. Barb September 4, 2013 at 9:46 am Reply

    Emailed the prosecutor. I hope these pigs suffer in jail for 4 years.

  10. Georgia Gatling September 5, 2013 at 9:35 am Reply

    I am the aunt of the owner of the dog that was killed and decapitated Daniel Kelley…my nephew has my support and I want them sentenced to the full four years, the 5000.00 FINE AND THE COMMUNITY service upon their release from prison. They deserve no mercy as they never showed Smokey any. They said the dog was aggressive but I was in michigan for two weeks visiting my sister and nephews and that is when I met Smokey for the first time. I was terrified of dogs because as a child and teenager I had been bitten several times…..when I entered my sister’s house Smokey didn’t even bark at me..I had gotten sick and had to go to the hospital Smokey and his son boo boo stayed by my side until I started feeling better. Smokey was an awesome dog and he deserves to have justice. Daniel I love you and support you baby….

    Aunt Georgia

Leave a Reply

