Little Traverse Bay Humane Society Rescues 12 Puppy Mill Dogs

The Little Traverse Bay Humane Society in Harbor Springs recently took in 12 puppy mill dogs from a group called The Puppy Mill Project.

My name is Porter and I'm a handsome Schnauzer mix seeking my forever home. I'm good with other dogs since I've spent four years living with many, but children would be too much for me. I can be a little bashful until I get used to my new home and family. In time I'll become accustomed to the outside world, but my new family will have to be patient with me. I sure look forward to a actual home that will take good care of me and love me forever.

My name is Porter and I’m a handsome Schnauzer mix seeking my forever home. I’m good with other dogs since I’ve spent four years living with many, but children would be too much for me. I can be a little bashful until I get used to my new home and family. In time I’ll become accustomed to the outside world, but my new family will have to be patient with me. I sure look forward to a actual home that will take good care of me and love me forever.

With matted fur and no names, most of these precious dogs have been vetted and groomed and are up for adoption at the Humane Society. For more on the story please click here.

According to the article, the dogs include Shih Tzus, Schnauzers and Yorkies, ages one to seven years old. If you are interested in adopting one of these dogs, please call the Humane Society at 231-347-2396.

Some of the dogs at the Humane Society are shown below.

My name is Madison and I'm one of the puppy mill dogs. I'm eight years old and have spent all of my life in a cage so I'm ready to be showered with the love and affection I keep hearing about in a forever home. I sure hope I can find a loving family that is willing to share their home with me. I'm very friendly and wouldn't mind living with other pets and older children. If you give me a chance, I promise to give you lots of my famous smiles for the rest of my days.
My name is Madison and I’m one of the puppy mill dogs. I’m eight years old and have spent all of my life in a cage so I’m ready to be showered with the love and affection I keep hearing about in a forever home. I sure hope I can find a loving family that is willing to share their home with me. I’m very friendly and wouldn’t mind living with other pets and older children. If you give me a chance, I promise to give you lots of my famous smiles for the rest of my days.
This is what Madison looked like in the beginning.

This is what Madison looked like in the beginning.

Whoa, I could tell you a story or two about my past, but I'll spare you the details and just say that it was no picnic. My name's Woody and I was a rescue from a puppy mill. Now that I'm at LTBHS with lots of food, a warm bed, and a loving staff, it has given me hope that I'll soon have a forever home and my very own family to love. And I know they'll love me too because I'm very friendly, despite that I've lived a very secluded life.

Whoa, I could tell you a story or two about my past, but I’ll spare you the details and just say that it was no picnic. My name’s Woody and I was a rescue from a puppy mill. Now that I’m at LTBHS with lots of food, a warm bed, and a loving staff, it has given me hope that I’ll soon have a forever home and my very own family to love. And I know they’ll love me too because I’m very friendly, despite that I’ve lived a very secluded life.

Before I arrived at the Humane Society, I was known just as number 50. I was full of dreadlocks that hung to the ground and I was covered in urine and feces. I was the first to get groomed and bathed and I can't even begin to tell you how much better I feel. I also have a real name - Trooper. I was rescued from a puppy mill with 11 other dogs. I'm only four years old, but the bad conditions made me look older. In time, with good nutrition and health care, which I'm already receiving at the Humane Society. I'll be a handsome young guy again. I'm a real Trooper which is how I got my name and I can't wait to find a loving, forever home.

Before I arrived at the Humane Society, I was known just as number 50. I was full of dreadlocks that hung to the ground and I was covered in urine and feces. I was the first to get groomed and bathed and I can’t even begin to tell you how much better I feel. I also have a real name – Trooper. I was rescued from a puppy mill with 11 other dogs. I’m only four years old, but the bad conditions made me look older. In time, with good nutrition and health care, which I’m already receiving at the Humane Society. I’ll be a handsome young guy again. I’m a real Trooper which is how I got my name and I can’t wait to find a loving, forever home.

My name is Amberly and I've been through a lot in my short life. If I'm a little nervous to meet you, that's why. I was rescued from a puppy mill where I lived a lonely life despite all of the dogs around me. My friends and I didn't get much love or care so some of us became very timid. My poor fur was in such bad shape that Deter had to shave it all off. I have to admit, I feel a lot better now. I know that it will grow back soon and I'll be the beautiful Bichon mix I was meant to be. I hope I can find a family who will have patience and love for a girl like me. I'd love to be a part of your family.

My name is Amberly and I’ve been through a lot in my short life. If I’m a little nervous to meet you, that’s why. I was rescued from a puppy mill where I lived a lonely life despite all of the dogs around me. My friends and I didn’t get much love or care so some of us became very timid. My poor fur was in such bad shape that Deter had to shave it all off. I have to admit, I feel a lot better now. I know that it will grow back soon and I’ll be the beautiful Bichon mix I was meant to be. I hope I can find a family who will have patience and love for a girl like me. I’d love to be a part of your family.

My name is Jefferson and for the first time in my life, I'm feeling loved and cared for. I am one of the 12 puppy mill dogs who just arrived here at LTBHS. I don't know too much about the outside world, but I can't wait to give it a try. Since my whole life has been spent with dogs, I'm very comfortable around them and I'm sure I'd be fine with cats too. I'm just a year old and my caretakers here think I am part Tibetan Spaniel. Now that I'm cleaned up, I'm feeling pretty handsome. I'm so glad to be here, but I really hope that a family will open their heart to me and give me the forever home I've been dreaming about all of my life. Learn more about me and all the other cats and dogs available for adoption.

My name is Jefferson and for the first time in my life, I’m feeling loved and cared for. I am one of the 12 puppy mill dogs who just arrived here at LTBHS. I don’t know too much about the outside world, but I can’t wait to give it a try. Since my whole life has been spent with dogs, I’m very comfortable around them and I’m sure I’d be fine with cats too. I’m just a year old and my caretakers here think I am part Tibetan Spaniel. Now that I’m cleaned up, I’m feeling pretty handsome. I’m so glad to be here, but I really hope that a family will open their heart to me and give me the forever home I’ve been dreaming about all of my life. Learn more about me and all the other cats and dogs available for adoption.

Formerly known as number 81, Mack was one of the nine puppy mill dogs who began his second chance with a shave down and a bath yesterday (there are three left who will get shaved and bathed today). Every one of the 12 dogs we rescued has given us nothing but love and affection. They know they are lucky to be here at LTBHS and we know we are lucky to be part of their second chance.

Formerly known as number 81, Mack was one of the nine puppy mill dogs who began his second chance with a shave down and a bath yesterday (there are three left who will get shaved and bathed today). Every one of the 12 dogs we rescued has given us nothing but love and affection. They know they are lucky to be here at LTBHS and we know we are lucky to be part of their second chance.

Tagged: ,

2 thoughts on “Little Traverse Bay Humane Society Rescues 12 Puppy Mill Dogs

  1. joe gotz April 29, 2014 at 4:28 pm Reply

    i might be interested in fostering amberly. is that possible? 19897332601 live on 13 acres near onaway mary talasky in cheboygan as reference

Leave a Reply

